Ondo 2020:Akeredolu Beats 8 Other Aspirants to Emerge APC Candidate

July 21 07:24 2020

The incumbent Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Rotimi Akeredolu has emerged the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the October 10, 2020 governorship election in the state.

Akeredolu defeated eight other aspirants in the race for the party’s ticket to emerge the candidate of the party.

Four aspirants have earlier withdrawn and stepped down for Akeredolu before the commencement of the party’s primary which commenced around 2pm and ended today July 21.

The governor was declared the party’s flag bearer, having won the highest number of lawful votes at the party’s primary election held at the International Conference Centre, Dome, Akure, the state capital.

The four aspirants who withdrawn from the race include Ife Oyedele, Segun Abraham, Jimi Odimayo and Nathaniel Adojutelegan.

Akeredolu was declared winner of the contest by the Chairman Electoral Committee, Governor Yahaya Bello with 2,458 votes having defeated Chief Olusola Oke SAN who polled 262, while Hon. Issacs Kekemeke scored 19 votes.

Others in the race, Iji Sola scored nine votes, Awodeyi Akinterinwa, one vote, Anifowose Olajumoke, two votes, Nathaniel Adojutelegan, four votes, Olaide Adelami, four votes, Bukola Adetula with no vote, while Invalid votes is 33

About 3,016 delegates across the 18 local government areas of the state participated in the election which produced Akeredolu as the party’s candidate with total votes cast 2,793, valid votes 2,760 .

Akeredolu won in all the 18 local government areas in the state to emerge the party’s candidate.

view more articles

About Article Author

write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment