Edo State Cricket Reach Over 3500 Students Through a Rotational Coaching Clinic

November 27 07:11 2019

Edo State Rotational Cricket Coaching Clinic for Secondary and Primary Schools which took place in Seven (7) schools within a space of 10 days was a landmark achievement as it captured over three thousand five hundred kids.

According to the Nigeria Cricket Federation -Regional Development Officer of South South, Theophilus Ibodeme, the anchor of the programme, the Clinic which started from Monday 11th and ended on Friday 22nd November, 2019 was a huge success as it exposed the kids to the basic Cricket techniques like bowling, batting and fielding.

In line with Ibodeme, the 10 days experience started with Edo College Benin City where 370 students were taught. Other records hit in the outreach include: Federal Government Girls College, Benin City (279 participants), Christlike Secondary School- IDP Camp, Uhogua (340), Idia College (659), Iyoba College (386) and Ohonre Grammar School (346). Others include Edo Boys High School (821 participants), Ugbowo Housing Estate Primary School (30), Ugbowo Primary School (30), St. David Boys Model Secondary School, Evboneka (58) and Government Science & Technical College, Benin City (243). A total number of participants therefore stood at 3,562.

The outline for the continuation of the programme in 2020 is already on ground. The list of the Seven (7) Secondary Schools that are proposed to benefit from the program in the Second Term include Edokpolor Grammar School, Army Day Secondary School, Scholars Imperial Educational Centre, Continental Group of Schools and Glorious Crown Group of Schools, Benin City. Others include Ujoelen Grammar School, Ekpoma and Ambrose Alli University Secondary School, Ekpoma

Among the Facilitators of the event that was sponsored by the Chairman of Edo State Cricket Association and Vice President of Nigeria Cricket Federation, Mr. Uyi Akpata include Abraham Oviawe Esq., Vice Chairman, Edo State Cricket Association. Mr. Uthe Ogbimi, Board Member of Edo Sate Cricket Association, Mrs. Divnerosemary Rotimi, Secretary, Edo State Cricket Association and Munikat Abubakar, Data Officer, Edo State.
Among the coaches are Mr. Joseph Okonobo, Mr. Cyril Musa, Amb. Theophilus A. Ibodeme, Otuagoma Oghale, Peter Esewi, Osasu Obasogie, Nosa Agbonwanegbe, Osamudiamen Ikponmwen, Osaigbovo Okungbowa, Ovie Osuaso, Mr. Rotimi and Miss Favour Onumeagbu.

view more articles

About Article Author

write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment