Naija Ratels Preseason Tournament Changes Name,Now Flying Officer’ Cup;Kicks Off In Abuja

November 12 21:30 2020


Nigeria Women Football’s biggest Club Pre-season Championship, the “Flying Officers Cup” formerly known as the “Naija Ratels Pre-season Championship” will kick off in Abuja from the 16th to the22nd of November 2020.

Following last year’s success of the foremost Women’s football league Pre-Season Championship, the organisers of the competition, Ratels Sports Development Foundation has deemed it fit to primarily re-brand the tournament beginning with this 2020 edition in order to honour the memory of the late Flying-officer Tolulope Arotile who lost her life tragically at the young age of 24.

The founder of RATELS SPORTS DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION and President of Naija Ratels Football Club, Barrister Paul Edeh went on to state that the competition is also a way of celebrating the unique strength of women generally and increase the popularity and participation of women’s football in the country.

“The tournament is now an annual event and will continue to be named after her, as a way of immortalizing the young flying officer whose life and time embodies the spirit of sportsmanship which made it possible for her to set the pace for other aspiring women to believe in the beauty of their dreams because anything is possible.” Edeh said.

” Furthermore, the Pre-Season Championship which registration is free, also has accommodation very well subsidized by the organisers for the clubs in order to cushion their spending on the tournament.

(a) Branded set of jerseys and Face caps for all participating clubs.

(b) Giant Trophy for the winner.

(c) 10 branded balls will be presented to each participating teams.

(d) High premium special awards such as MVP, Best goalkeeper, etc to be presented to players who distinguish themselves.

(e) High premium branded medals with competition logo and lots more.

(f) Live streaming and commentary of all matches.

Registration for the prestigious Nigeria Women Football Pre-season Championship (Flying Officers Cup) is ongoing. The Pre-Season Championship is scheduled to begin on Monday, November 16 to Sunday, November 22 at the Guards Brigade Sports Complex Football Pitch, Aguiyi Ironsi Barracks, Asokoro, Abuja.

Defending Champions Edo Queens, finalist Nasarawa Amazons, NWFL Premiership Champions Rivers Angels, Osun Babes, Naija Ratels, Royal Queens, Bayelsa Queens, Gallant Queens have all signified interest to participate in the Pre-season Championship with more teams expected to confirm their participation before the weekend.

NWFL Premiership side Edo Queens emerged Champions last year after defeating Nasarawa Amazons in a very pulsating final Played at the Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi.

view more articles

About Article Author

write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment